All essays
Playbook

The Jasper alternatives, compared by someone who built one

Palash Jain·September 23, 2026·8 min read
A dark card with the words 'The Jasper alternatives, compared by someone who built one' in serif type, a terracotta rule, and the Mastheads wordmark.

I should say this first. I build Mastheads, which writes articles, so I am one of the tools on this list. I put it last, and I tell you where it does not fit. Read the rest with that in mind.

Most roundups for this search are written by one tool about the others. This one is too. The difference is that every number below comes from the company's own pricing page, read on 23 September 2026, with the page named so you can check it. Where a page does not say something, I say "not stated" instead of guessing.

Prices change. Treat these as a snapshot and click through.

Why people leave Jasper

Jasper's pricing page (jasper.ai/pricing) sells a Pro plan at $59 a month per seat billed yearly, or $69 billed monthly, with one seat, 2 Brand Voices, 5 Knowledge assets and 3 Audiences. Business is custom pricing and adds API access and a no-code agent builder. The page lists a Plagiarism Checker as an add-on for Copyscape and writing in 30+ languages.

Notice what the page is selling. It is a marketing platform: brand voices, agents, image tools, admin controls. If that is what you want, Jasper is fine and you can stop reading.

People search for an alternative for three reasons, in my experience. The seat price adds up on a small team. They wanted articles and got a platform. Or they published something Jasper wrote and could not say where a fact came from.

The tools below answer those three complaints differently. Pick the complaint first, then the tool.

Writesonic

Page read: writesonic.com/pricing.

Writesonic has moved. The page now leads with tracking your brand across ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews. Articles are one line in the plan, not the headline.

Starter is $79 a month billed annually with 15 AI articles a month and one user. Basic is $199 with 25 articles and two users. Growth is $399 with 50 articles and three users. Enterprise is custom. Monthly billing prices are behind a toggle and I did not read them.

Sources or citations in the articles: not stated on the pricing page. Publishing to a CMS: not stated on the pricing page.

Right for you if you want AI search tracking and some articles on the side. Wrong if you came for articles alone, because you are paying for the tracking either way.

Copy.ai

Page read: copy.ai/prices.

Copy.ai has repositioned harder than anyone here. The page sells a "GTM" platform for sales and marketing teams, built on "Workflows" and "Workflow Credits". Their own words: a Workflow is "a set of AI-powered actions that are stitched together to codify a process".

Chat is $29 a month billed monthly, or $24 billed yearly, with 5 seats and unlimited words in chat. Growth is $1,000 a month, billed as $12,000 a year, with 75 seats and 20K credits a month. Expansion and Scale are $2,000 and $3,000 a month.

Long-form articles, citations, CMS publishing: none of these appear on the pricing page.

Right for you if your team runs sales and marketing processes and wants one tool for both. Wrong if you are one person who wants blog posts. The product is not built for you any more.

Anyword

Page read: anyword.com/pricing.

Anyword's angle is performance data. Every plan comes with "performance predictions", a score for how copy is expected to do.

Starter is $49 a month with one seat, unlimited copy generation, one brand voice, and a "Blog Wizard with plagiarism checker". Data-Driven is $99 a month with three seats. Business and Enterprise are custom. The page has a monthly and yearly toggle; the figures above are the ones it opened on.

Sources or citations in the blog output: not stated. CMS publishing: the page lists "Out of the box integrations" on the top tiers without naming them.

Right for you if you write ads and landing pages and want a number next to each variant. Wrong if long articles are the main job.

Rytr

Page read: rytr.me/pricing.

Rytr is the cheap one, and it is honest about it. Free is $0 with 10K characters a month. Unlimited is $7.50 a month and Premium is $24.16 a month, on the yearly toggle the page opens on. Premium adds 35+ languages and multiple tone matches. Plagiarism checks are 50 or 100 a month.

Sources or citations: not stated. CMS publishing: not stated. The page describes short output, things like emails, captions and meta titles.

Right for you if you want a cheap helper for short copy. Wrong if you need a finished article that can stand on its own.

Frase

Page read: frase.io/pricing.

Frase calls itself "the content operating system for AI search". Of the tools here, it is the one closest to a publishing tool rather than a writing box.

Starter is $39 a month billed yearly, or $49 month to month, with one seat, one site, and 10 articles plus 50 audit pages a month. Professional is $103 billed yearly or $129 month to month, with three seats, five sites and 40 articles a month. Both have a free 7-day trial with no card.

The page says it publishes to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity or Wix, or hosts on FraseCMS. It says the agent "publishes on its own when you let it".

Sources or citations inside the article: not stated on the pricing page.

Right for you if you want SEO scores, a site audit and publishing in one place at a low price. Wrong if you need to see the sources behind each claim before it goes out.

Koala AI

Page read: koala.sh/pricing.

Koala sells by the word. Starter is $25 a month for 45,000 words. Professional is $49 for 100,000 words. Boost is $99 for 250,000 words. The page has a monthly and annual toggle; these are the figures it opened on.

Every plan lists "Real-time factual data", bulk writing, AI images, and publishing to WordPress, Shopify, Webflow, Ghost and webhooks. Starter includes API access.

Whether the finished article shows its sources: not stated on the pricing page. "Real-time factual data" describes an input, not a citation in the output.

Right for you if you run several niche sites and count in words. Wrong if you need to show a client where a number came from.

Surfer SEO

Page read: surferseo.com/pricing.

Surfer started as an optimisation tool and now writes as well. Prices are billed yearly. Discovery is $49 a month for 120 documents. Standard is $99 for 360 documents. Pro is $182 and Peace of Mind is $299 with unlimited documents and API access. There is a separate AI Search Analytics plan at $82.

The Standard plan lists integrations, a plagiarism checker and rank drop detection. Which integrations, and whether they publish or only exchange data: not stated on the pricing page.

Sources or citations in the written article: not stated on the pricing page.

Right for you if you write yourself and want a score while you do it. Wrong if you want the writing done for you with the evidence attached.

Mastheads

This is mine, so read it as a pitch.

Mastheads writes source-backed articles through nine editorial desks. Every article shows its sources, the checks it passed, its named byline, and anything the desks could not fix. That last part matters. You see what was not settled, not only what was.

It refuses what it cannot source. A topic with no real pages behind it comes back unwritten rather than written with confidence. I would rather have the empty slot than a client asking where a number came from.

Plans are $99 a month for 40 articles, $249 for 120 and $599 for 300. The trial is 10 articles over 7 days, with no card. It publishes to WordPress, Ghost, Webflow, Shopify, HubSpot and GoHighLevel, or exports as Markdown and HTML. Review before publishing is the default; auto publish is something you switch on per site.

Where it does not fit. It writes articles. It does not write ads, emails or captions. It does not score copy or track AI search. If you need any of that, one of the seven above does it and we do not.

What to ask any of them

Five questions. The answers tell you more than any roundup, this one included.

  1. How many articles, and how long? Some sell per seat, some per word, some per article. Turn the price into a cost per finished article before you compare.
  2. Can I see where a fact came from? Not one pricing page above answers this. Ask before you pay.
  3. Does it publish to my site, or hand me text? Frase, Koala and Mastheads name their destinations. Most do not.
  4. What is the monthly price, not the yearly one? Most pages open on the discounted figure.
  5. What is this company actually selling now? Writesonic and Copy.ai changed their answer. Check the headline on the pricing page, not the name.

The short version

If you want the Jasper platform for less, look at Anyword. If you want cheap short copy, Rytr. If you want SEO scoring with the writing, Frase or Surfer. If you count in words across many sites, Koala. If you want AI search tracking with articles attached, Writesonic.

And if you want articles that show their sources, with the checking already done and the gaps marked, that is the one I built.

Keep reading
Subscribe

One email per essay.

No marketing fluff. Unsubscribe any time.